UN Economic Commission for Africa – UNECA

 UN agency / Posted 6 years ago by Nason Bimbe / 455 views

The UN ECA is made up of 54 Member States from the Region. ECA operates at the regional and sub-regional levels to harness resources and bring them to bear on Africa’s priorities. In addition to its headquarters office in Addis Ababa, the ECA has sub-regional offices for Central Africa (in Yaounde, Cameroon), Eastern Africa (Kigali, Rwanda), North Africa (Rabat, Morocco), Southern Africa (Lusaka, Zambia) and West Africa (Niamey, Niger). The ECA generates and promotes a robust body of analytical and policy-oriented research. It promotes policy consensus, provides capacity development and advisory services in key thematic fields including: macroeconomic policy; regional integration and trade; social development; natural resources; innovation and technology; gender; governance and statistic. To enhance its impact, ECA places a special focus on collecting up to date and original regional statistics in order to ground its policy research and advocacy on clear objective evidence. The social development unit at ECA undertakes research and provides technical assistance to strengthen national capacities. The unit supports Member States in the broad areas of employment creation, social protection, urbanization, international migration, fertility, mortality, women’s empowerment to reduce socio-economic and gender imbalances, in line with international and regional commitments.

The social development publications provide information on its core intervention program areas.

More details: https://www.uneca.org/

Contact this listing owner